images-time

All naivety gone, all the innocence dead,
Dark scars remain, a remainder of what has been,
Scathing horror and screaming pain that was,
In a dark world so inept at showing love

I never felt any grain less suspicious,
Of thunder that awaited to shatter all my expectations,
With the dark ugly abnormal shadows hiding the sun,
Those that stole all my hopes and strangled my spirit

But all these experiences color my hardened heart,
And in the midst of these green fields that are alive,
Where I am able to breath and to smile again,
For I know tomorrow is here and am free and open

All the fear and uncertainty that nearly consumed me,
Are all crushed and flattened with this new beginning,
And my heart sings songs of splendor,
For all the golden opportunities that awaits me

Leave a Reply

